Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

The use of harmonics

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Verbannter, Dec 17, 2005.

1. As I was browsing through music archives I decided to check out some of my fav music artists. I stumbeled upon a piece from Dream Theater's bassist; John Myung, for a piece called "Solar Groove". Which near the end incorporates an abundance of harmonics used to create chords. As I am not very experienced with this technique I was hoping I could get some feed back on how one may properly implement them and where they can be found. (For I feel there is more too it then just lightly applying pressure to the strings with your fretting hand.)

I have a feeling I may need to get new strings to play this piece efficiently as they're starting to lose their tone.

By the way, it's a great piece and I reccomend everyone take a good look at it. :smug:

Rock on! :bassist:

2. Well, there's some plucking involved too. :p Really, there's not much more too it than that. With some of them it helps to get your finger off the string and let it ring out. It's usually helpful to solo your bridge pickup, since some harmonics won't get picked up by the neck pickup, and combining them seems to cancel some out. Mids are helpful. Plucking near the bridge helps too.

3. Alvaro Martín Gómez A.

Alvaro Martín Gómez A. TalkBass' resident Bongo + cowbell player

Hey David, what's up!