1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

The VALUE of "24 variations" - a testamony

Discussion in 'Ask Anthony Wellington [archive]' started by sonofabass, Dec 31, 2011.

1. sonofabass

sonofabass

Feb 10, 2006
    California
    Endorsing Artist: Aguilar Amplification, Mike Lull,MXR,Gruv Gear, Mono
    As both a student, and as a teacher I have seen the 24 variations widely disregarded. I should say that I USED to disregard them!

Here's where the value is coming in from "do every day" practicing:

I'm closing out 2011 with the Kev Choice ensemble. Subbing for phenom bassist Uriah Duffy (google him and you'll see how big those shoes are to fill). Kev Choice is a Bay Area Hip Hop artist.....who has a master's degree in piano performance. (quite rare) This means that playing an emcee that often raps from the keys and has elaborate arrangements that include really slick soli lines means being able to comprehend and execute ideas and lines quickly. "Shortening your reaction time" - as Anthony says.

At the first rehearsal it was quite obvious how practicing the 24 variations and pentatonic in a diligent and focused manner have paid of so far.

Thanks, Ant. Happy New Year

2. Ant Wellington

Ant Wellington

Jan 4, 2011
    Maryland
    Yo Blyss,

Thanks for your kind words and believing in the curriculum. You were already a great player when you started studying with me. But like all good musicians and athletes,...we can always get better. It's an impossibility to have technique that is 'too' good as it is impossible to shoot free throws 'too' well. A basketball coach is never gonna' tell a player that he shoots free throws too well and that it's a detriment to the team. That's just never gonna' happen.

I'm always working on my technique and my knowledge base. Like with many endeavors in life, musicians benefit greatly from 'shortening our reaction time'.