There is nothing quite like breaking a string

Discussion in 'Bass Humor & Gig Stories [BG]' started by thekyle, Jan 21, 2006.

1. thekyle

Dec 25, 2005
    Breckenridge, CO
    I've been playing shows for about 8 years, and I can honestly say I had never broken a string while on stage. Until last night. We got through sound check fine, and then on about the third note of our first jam, POP goes my G string. It is just so much fun transfering runs up the neck. But, I was a trooper and just minimized my playing for the whole set. Now I see how bad I need an SR5 (just as a back up...YEAH RIGHT).
  2. What's really fun is playing a 6, getting used to staying in one position all the time, then breaking the ol' meat & potatoes A string.:eek: "Hey, what happened back there?"
    'Aw, I was just laying out for effect...*

*for two or three songs- at church.:rolleyes:
  3. Kronos

Dec 28, 2005
    Philadelphia, PA
    When I used to use a pick constantly, I broke my low B string like once a month. But, then again, I was always tremolo picking right at the bridge....
  4. Brocko777

Jan 1, 2006
    Once you break one you'll never have that "I only need one bass" attitude again.
    I had the onstage priviledge of breaking a "D" with my other bass in the back(dressing)room in the case all warm and cozy.... then 30 second in my "A" went too! Thats fun... finished the song (poorly, but funny) not to many options with the E and G left. Excused myself... ran back got the back up and continued. The G broke soon after.. (on the same bass) really BAD set of strings... Bad Strings! go to your room!
  5. Redhotbassist

Oct 19, 2002
    There should be a way of telling when your strings are going to break,snap or unwind at the bridge, because i get so paranoid before a gig whether to change my strings or not, i always end up buying and installing a new set before the gig, on the day or something..
  6. d8g3jdh

d8g3jdh Guest

Aug 9, 2005