1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

there's a lot of great players who can't read... or is it not?

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by jj.833, Aug 12, 2019.

Tags:
  1. fluently

105 vote(s)
    23.9%
  2. if I get the sheet a day before

149 vote(s)
    33.9%
  3. chord signs only

98 vote(s)
    22.3%
  4. I don't read

88 vote(s)
    20.0%
  1. Hi,
    As a newbie bass teacher, I'm looking for arguments for/against the training to read and write the notes. I believe the general consensus (ouch!) goes something like "reading is a must for professionals, because you can play with anybody on instant" combined with "you should play/hear/feel first, then you can dive into theory". I understand the statemend above is bold, open to doubt and badly stated. This is not what I want to discuss.

Sometimes, people add "there's a lot of great players who can't read" in this kind of discussion. I don't know any. Do you know some bass giant who can't read, meaning who didn't train/wasn't trained in reading through his carreer, or at least to the point where he became famous?

EDIT: great players who can't read I learned about so far in this thread:
    bass:
    Paul McCartney
    Pino Palladino
    Rocco Prestia (?)
    guitar:
    Tommy Emanuel
    George Benson
    Jimi Hendrix
    Eddie van Halen
    Stevie Ray Vaughan
    Dave Grohl
    Elvis Presley
    drums:
    Dennis Chambers

Last edited: Aug 13, 2019
  2. You can play with anybody if you have the sheet music. I run into a lot of situations where a song and key is called and counted,in that situation big ears is a must.

3. Malcolm35

Malcolm35

Aug 7, 2018
    The pros that don't read got lucky and were at the right place at the right time and connected with a band that let them get by in spite of this skill not being in their tool chest.