Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

They're asking me for money....

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by eots, Aug 26, 2005.

1. eots

eots

Dec 18, 2004
    Morris, IL.
    I started playing bass with a guitarist/singer and drummer. They've been together for about 12 years on/off. We practice in the guitarists basement and he has accumulated a fair amount of gear (PA, guitar stuff). Together, they have a CD they've been trying to promote. Having spent money on recording and buying extra copies to give away at gigs and such. ( I haven't gigged with them yet)
    Enter 'ME'. I've been working on their material including some covers. They've even asked me to contribute some stuff I know that they might want to do.
    So today, Drummer/promoter calls me up and after a short conversation, asks me about contributing to the band to help cover promotional costs. Like $40-$100 or something to start. I was a bit put off by this. I had told him up front that I wasn't interested in making money at this, at least initially.
    Do you guys think this is out of line? I hadn't previously known these guys from Adam but had an ad thru the bassfinder at uglybassplayer.com. Not that that matters but I already travel the farthest (40min.) and of course have $thousands invested in my own gear. Just tell me I'm a cheapskate and I'll be okay.

2. bassontherun

bassontherun

Jul 9, 2005
    Although it's pretty common for all members of a band to absorb a percentage of the promotional costs, it sounds as if they may have hit you up for the scratch before you considered yourself this deeply involved with the band.