Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Thinkin' about it

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Theonestarchild, Jan 15, 2006.

1. Theonestarchild

Theonestarchild Artfully lost

Aug 23, 2005
    North Carolina
    I was at the music store picking up some cabling, and I came across a Stagg bass. It looks alot like the Warlock by B.C. Rich...
    I was wondering if anyone's played it, and what they thought. I like it, but I'll have to save big. It's only 180. Too bad I'm a student, and money is so hard to come by. I only had time to plug it in on some garbage amp. Give me some ideas please.

2. cheezewiz

cheezewiz

Mar 27, 2002
    Ohio
    What bass are you currently playing?

Edit..duh..I guess I should have read your sig. I don't really see that being an upgrade on your Peavey. Peavey makes some really nice low end beginner basses. The pot fix on the Peavey should be very cheap. I'd just take it to a shop, get it fixed, and stick with that.

3. Theonestarchild

Aug 23, 2005
    North Carolina
    Peavey Fury with a scratchy tone pot. I like it. Alot. But the stagg would be nice to have as a secondary, or I might trade in my fury if it's worth it.

4. cheezewiz

cheezewiz

Mar 27, 2002
    Ohio
    If you have the money, and want a second bass, you like the sound and the look of the Stagg, then go for it. No reason not to. However, I don't think it'll be an upgrade on your Peavey. As I said, replacing a pot is a very cheap repair.

5. Theonestarchild

Aug 23, 2005
    North Carolina
    I got a soldering iron, but I suck. Like... hard. Could I do it? If so, how do I figure out what pot goes in there? Also, this bass is like... a 95 model. I bought it used at a Music and Arts center. I like it, like I said, but is it worth it?

6. cheezewiz

cheezewiz

Mar 27, 2002
    Ohio