Thinking about a double bass..

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by madisonisrad, Feb 27, 2006.

1. madisonisrad

Feb 27, 2006
    Well, I am quite new to this whole thing, and I have checked some of the newbie stuff, but I still have some questions!!
    First off, I'm wondering about size.. I know that 3/4 is like a standard size.. I'm around 5"10.. so I'm wondering what would be better, 3/4, 4/4, or even a different size?
    Also, I really like punk, rockabilly, and psychobilly as well. I was wondering if there are certain kinds of basses, pick-ups, etc for playing these types of music?
    And lastly, I've played guitar for around 2 years now and I'm wondering if a double bass is alot harder to play than a guitar? I would definately want to play a full-bodied bass, and I know the strings are definately alot thicker!
    I'm really just starting to research and learn about this and would greatly appreciate people's opinions!

2. 5stringDNA

Oct 10, 2002
    Englewood, CO
    Don't even THINK about a guitar when you pick up a double bass. Approach it as a completely new instrument. The mechanics and such are very different and the only things that really carry over are theory knowledge and your ears.
    As far as basses, you DO NOT want a 4/4 bass. Get a 3/4 or a 7/8. I'm 6' and a 7/8 is very comfortable for me, but I play a 3/4. If you are going to put a lot of abuse on your bass it is best to stick with a laminate such as an Englehardt or King. Upton bass, Shen, Christopher, and Norton customs all provide good selection as well.There are a lot of options for quality plys under $2000