Thinking about a major bass collection overhaul.

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Philbiker, Apr 22, 2003.

1. Philbiker

Philbiker Pat's the best!

Dec 28, 2000
    Northern Virginia, USA
    I'm a hobbyist. I've been in gigging bands a few times over the years, but don't see that happening in my immediate future (say 5 years out). Right now I play in a little acoustic trio with my brother Peter. In that band I either play my Dean Fretless or my Tacoma acoustic. I also play in church, same two basses.

I have four other fretted basses in my collection.
    • A homemade P bass that's probably worth $100 for the good parts on it.
    • A stunning green custom jazz.
    • A Peavey Palaedium 4 string
    • A very nice Made in USA Jazz Bass from 1997.
    I rarely play them. I sometimes woodshed on them, or use them for family or friends' home recording projects. I bring them out for special occasions at church (the green bass for St. Patrick's Day).

What a waste of not only my money, but some really good basses. I'm thinking very seriously of selling them. I'm enough of a player that I'd want to replace them for those rare times that I use them, but I think they're wasting away. They're just not getting played and it's a shame.

So I'm thinking of selling them and using the cash for other things in my life. Putting my "rock and roll" days behind me. I figure an Essex Jazz should be all I need. The "P" bass is going nowhere, it's essentially valueless.

I just can't help but think I'll regret it though...... The blue Jazz V is so darn beautiful.... Man I'm confused. I'd appreciate advice from others who have been through similar situations.

I'm not a bass snob. I'm just as happy playing my Dean as I am with the custom Jazz that cost 4 times more. I happen to believe that we're living in the golden age of guitars. The guitars that are coming out of places like Cort in Korea for very low dollars are definitely good enough for me.