Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Thinking about going to Music school

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by DarkMazda, Sep 18, 2002.

1. YEAH GO FOR IT!

18 vote(s)
    94.7%
  2. No, you suck too much so stick with regular stuff :P

1 vote(s)
    5.3%
  1. DarkMazda

DarkMazda

Jun 3, 2000
    NJ
    Hey guys, whats going on? Long time no see :)

Anyways, I am thinking of quitting this community college and going to a music centered school. I finally found out whta I wanted to do.. MUSIC!!! Yay! But I have no knowledge of music what so ever :( No Theory, nothing :( I Even suck at bass.. but anyways, I would like to goto a music school to

1) Sharpen my Bass Skillz (Which is nothing)
    2) Learn Theory etc.. (Which I don't know anything about)
    3) PLAY AND LEARN MUSIC!

But I don't know what school to goto.. any suggestions anyone? How much do they run for? etc.. etc...

Any Suggestions/Comments are welcomed :)

DM

2. um....

You don't suck.

3. Nick Gann

Nick Gann Talkbass' Tubist in Residence

Mar 24, 2002
    Silver Spring, MD
    Go for it!!! I plan to go to a music when I graduate from HS.

I think it might be hard if you don't have a basic knowledge of theory and bass though. Most music schools have an audition process, and if you don't thinkthat you have any skills, that might be a problem. GET A TERACHER!!!! That will help you with skill, and technique and theory. If you are serious about it, then get a teacher and go for it!!!

4. Justin V

Justin V

Dec 27, 2000
    Alameda, CA
    Dude, you don't suck. I just listened to a couple of your mp3s, your playing is pretty respectable. My suggesstion would be to get a teacher to learn some theory and technique and maybe boost your confidence in your playing.