Thinking about SX vs Squire

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by RJ_Sullivan, Jul 15, 2004.

1. RJ_Sullivan

Jul 14, 2004
    I'm new around here, although I've been lurking awhile, and I'm just starting out on bass. I have decided to buy my first setup - I've been renting for the last month or so to see if I'd stick with it. I was leaning towards getting a Squire Jazz since I love the traditional style and tone of the Fenders, and the local Guitar Center has some of their Squire P-Basses and Jazz Basses on sale or clearance. Ideally I'd go with a MIM Fender but since I also have to buy a practice amp, I didn't want to put out $400+ for a new one. I wanted to stay away from buying used because ther aren't a lot of good trustworthy shops around here, and being so new to bass, I wouldn't be good at evaluating the condition of a used one.
    Anyway, I was also looking at the SX basses since so many people here seem to like them. How do they compare to the Squires? They are both about the same price since the Squires are on sale.
    Are they both easy to upgrade down the road? I thought that maybe I'd add a different bridge or upgraded pups later.
    Unfortunately, I don't have a way to try the SX (or Essex as some call them), so I'm looking for opinions from those who have seen/tried both.

Thanks for takin' the time to read..!

RJ :hyper:
  2. I'd say the SX basses are just as good if not better than Squier, and hell of a lot cheaper brand new. Problem is, just like Squier, their hit-or-miss as far as getting a good one. Best thing to do would be is to try one yourself down at the shop if you could, or possibly get another TBer who lives near Rondo Music to go try out and get the good one and send it to you, I'm sure someone would be willing to help you if it came to that.
  3. Corwin81

Mar 18, 2003
    Ames, IA
    I've got both and like them just as equal. I haven't owned any high end basses to compare to, but once I get "El Nino", I'll be able to compare.