1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Thinking of building my own bass

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by attackbass, Apr 23, 2009.

1. attackbass

attackbass

Jul 16, 2007
    Endorsing Artist:Orange Amps, EBS FX, Ernie Ball, Fender Bass Guitars
    So i'm thinking of building my own bass. not totally from scratch but from warmouth type replacement bodies and necks etc...

I guess i'm wondering about two things about it, so if any of you guys have done this before i would appreciate any insight into it

If the parts that you buy high quality and you really spend a lot of time , care and attention to putting together will you get a great sounding, playing bass?

I'm also interested in learning about how everything works and fits together (im a touring musician so i can only see it as another skill if something falls apart on tour). I'm pretty sure my dad will help me with the electronics and over see it, but what about setting it up to play great... I can usually set up a bass intonation and playability wise no problem, and i've fitted a badass bridge before to my jazz, but no expereince with truss rod adjustment and cutting a nut..... is this something I can read up and research and learn from my mistakes, or take it slowly and get it right eventualy?

By the way im thinking of doing a CAR jazz, with bound neck and nordstrand big singles....

2. OldogNewTrick

OldogNewTrick

Dec 28, 2004
    Germany, EU
    start reading here ;)

3. bikeplate

bikeplate Supporting Member

Jun 7, 2001
    Upstate NY
    HI

I did it once. Was fun. Bass turned out to cost me quite a bit of cash and sounded ok. Better off buying a preowned quality jazz. Lots of brands to choose from. Also, resale on anything you put together yourself will be next to nothing.

Rob

4. attackbass

attackbass

Jul 16, 2007