Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Thinking of buying a Fender (possibly Re-issue)

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Lewk, Nov 2, 2003.

1. Lewk

Lewk

Oct 19, 2003
    Hey Guys,

First up, this is my first post here on what I have so far found to be an excellent place for bass resources! I've only been here a week or two, even though I’ve been playing for just over 2 years, and have already learned a lot about some of the things I’m not so sure about in the world of bass. So thanks for that!

I'm considering saving up for a current 75 re-issue jazz. I haven’t been able to find one of these to play yet, and I was wondering if you could help me with a few questions about fenders/re-issues.

For a bit of background, I currently play an Ibanez EDA-900 (which I love to bits, even though I know it is "frowned upon" by many ;)) and for my second bass I want something a little more traditional.

Enough waffle, on with the questions!

1) Is there much difference in tone between these 75 re-issues and a standard American made jazz bass? I'm become a big fan of the more "classic" bass sound recently. Would the re-issues deliver this or would a normal (and presumably cheaper) jazz be able to do the same thing?

2) I won't lie by saying the looks of the re-issue is what immediately appealed to me of the bass, but naturally when purchasing, the sound and playability would be the main factor. I especially like the metal pickup and bridge covers and the maple fret board. Do these metal covers alter the sound at all? Are these covers available separately and able to be attached to a standard fender?

i have also never played on a maple fret board. Does this also make a difference to playability or is it wholly cosmetic?