Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Thinking of giving it up

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by fourstringdrums, Sep 19, 2005.

1. fourstringdrums

fourstringdrums Decidedly Indecisive Supporting Member

Oct 20, 2002
    San Antonio
    I suppose I already know what most of the responses are going to be, but I figured I'd put my scenario out there.

I love bass, or should I say, I admire it, but I don't love playing it anymore. I've been playing for about 4 years, and I feel like I only really enjoyed it for the first year and a half. After that it seems like I've just been going through the motions. I get inspired by bass players on ocassion, but then as soon as I get my bass near me, I lose the inspiration. I don't have the focus to practice or to even play along with music any more. I know that most would say that I should take a break, but that's the thing.. I've been on a break basically for almost 2 years, with no real change.

To make things more complicated, I'm also a drummer. I've have my times with that where I've gotten frustrated and gone away from the instrument, either not played for months, or once I did sell my kit and didn't play for a year and a half. But, I've started to come back to it and while I used to think of bass as my real instrument because there was no physical barrier "holding me back", I'm starting to feel like drums is my real instrument. That I just have more of a connection to it. I know that I'm more interested in learning new things with the drums and actually practicing. For me it also is sort of a constant physical accomplishment that I always want to try and get over.