1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Thinking of growing my hair long....

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by two fingers, Nov 5, 2018.

1. Go for it.

47 vote(s)
    61.8%
  2. No way.

6 vote(s)
    7.9%
  3. Go half and half. One side long. One side short. Then choose.

7 vote(s)
    9.2%
  4. Rub carrot juice in it and go away.

16 vote(s)
    21.1%
  1. two fingers

two fingers Opinionated blowhard. But not mad about it. Gold Supporting Member

Feb 7, 2005
    Eastern NC USA
    I'm 47.

6'2" and slender(ish).

I am a technician presently. Not a lot of chances for advancement. And, quite honestly, I am at a financial point in my life where clawing up the ladder isn't really my thing anymore anyway. There are no restrictions on hair length at my workplace.

I have a wife and two young daughters.

My hair is still jet black. You can find a few greys if you are up in my personal space.

I can not wear a hat at work.

I don't even know if any of that matters, but I figured I would answer some obvious questions.

I'm just wanting a different look. These days my hair is somewhat "spiked" most of the time. But I have let it grow for a couple months and it's too long to spike anymore.

I'm at a hair crossroads.

I cut my own hair. It takes about 15 minutes. 1/2" up the back. Fade to 3/4" on the sides. 1" on top. And a little extra in the front. I could cut it tonight easy.

Or I can keep going.

For those of you in my age group who have long hair, are there any disadvantages these days? The last time I had long hair was 1993. People seem more tolerant of pretty much anything these days. But do you ever think "It's just not worth it" and get tempted to cut yours? If so, why?

That "in between" stage is annoying as crap.