Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Thinking of shaving my nut

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by Johnny5, Mar 8, 2006.

1. Johnny5

Johnny5

Mar 5, 2006
    Calgary, Canada
    Pun intended.

I've got Jazz Bass that I want to restring with the top 4 thickest strings of a 5-set (so B-E-A-D instead of E-A-D-G). I currently play an entry level Yamaha with the same setup and I didn't think to file down the nut to account for the added width, it seems to have held up perfect, no shifting or ill effects on the guitar otherwise and I've been playing it like that for almost 2 years.

Should I worry about filing down the nut on my new Jazz? I want to keep the setup permanent.

2. ldervish

ldervish

May 22, 2005
    Johnson City, TN
    No personal experience on this, but the danger (as I understand it) is that the nut could split, requiring replacement. Although that would not be an expensive repair, why go through it when having your shop widen the slots slightly would take care of it? It's a one-time fix, and no worries for your Jazz.

3. Kronos

Kronos

Dec 28, 2005
    Philadelphia, PA
    I'm with Idervish on this one. I broke a nut once doing the same thing you're wanting to do.

4. arbitrary

arbitrary Supporting Member

Oct 24, 2005
    Boston, MA
    DO IT!!!
    It'll look bigger!!!

I'm sorry; I just had too....prbly will itch though.
    just weight the pros and cons.

5. lyle

lyle Guest

Jan 10, 2004
    Vernon, B.C. Canada
    HA!

6. I was waiting for this response.

7. 5bassman

5bassman Supporting Member

May 4, 2005
    Kennesaw,GA
    I did this same setup on both of my Sadowskys and I widen the string slots using the strings themselves, no file needed. That way you just go wider and not deeper into the nut. Do it yourself. It takes no time at all.

8. Johnny5

Johnny5

Mar 5, 2006
    Calgary, Canada