Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

thinking of the emg-pj set

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by rusmannx, Nov 28, 2004.

1. rusmannx

rusmannx

Jul 16, 2001
    right now i have this b-50 (emg ltd), and i really like to play it, but i'm thinking of switching out the pickups. i've never used active pups before, but thought i may give it a try. a friend of mine told me to give the emg-pj set a look, but i don't know the difference from one to another. to make things even more difficult, it seems that people say different pups will sound different in every bass, so i can't see any way to test some.

my bass has the ESP LDJ/LDP set (these are not active).

2. luknfur

luknfur

Jan 14, 2004
    DIXIE
    FWIW:

I like lots of pups including EMG. If you're into vintage tone you probably should look elsewhere (although the active J's can put out a suprisingly vintage tone). EMG active PJs (they only make one model so nothing complicated - 4 string that is). EMGs sound more consistent in different basses than any other pup I've played. They're dead quiet, clear, punchy, fat and bright and play fine different styles of music. You'll need a battery clip, stereo jack, and their standard harness is 25k audio pot vol/vol/tone. It was my first transplant (about as simple as you can get) from a passive bass and I still have those pups today.

3. pistoleroace

pistoleroace

Sep 13, 2002
    WI