Thinner strings?

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by Born Villain, Jul 26, 2013.

1. Born Villain

Born Villain

Jul 26, 2013
    Is this even possible? I'm a new bassist in a band, and I'm actually a guitarist and I have very small hands (being a tiny girl and all ew). Any strings that will be easier for me?

2. Technotitclan

Technotitclan Lurking TB from work

Mar 1, 2012
    Rochester, NY
    Highly recommend any of DR's round core strings for ease of playing. There super flexible. With a good setup with low action it will almost play itself. I used to like really lite strings (used to use Elixir 40-95 or 40-100) but when i switched to DR I ended up using either 45-105 or the 50-110 depending on which of my basses I'm using.

I recommend using Bassstringsonline.com. Jason there has awesome prices and shipping is only 3 days at the most for me and I'm on the other side of the country from him.
    https://www.bassstringsonline.com/DR-Strings_c_16.html

3. Ian_Flash

Ian_Flash

Jan 17, 2013
    What kind of bass are you playing, and what kind of music/sound do you need? The size (scale) of your bass could determine the best gauge and type of string. There are lots of options... let me know and I can give you some good recos.

4. Technotitclan

Mar 1, 2012
    Rochester, NY
    There are lots of strings out there for bass and there all different. If you can describe the sound your looking all of us here will be happy to recommend a string that will work for you. They come int all sizes and textures. Theres thick, thin, coated, nickle, steel, flat wound, round wound, colored.... you name it and theres a bass string for it.

5. Ian_Flash

Ian_Flash

Jan 17, 2013
    I agree with technoticlan about round-core DR's. Definitely easier to play, but you still want to try to select the best materials and gauges, since DR offers a few options.

6. Jaco Taco

Jaco Taco

Jul 30, 2012