1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  
  2. Welcome Back!  Please see this thread for more info about the site outage.  Thank you for your patience as we work out bugs and tweak server configs.

This Buzz Is Driving Me Crazy

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by Berkin, Jul 21, 2019.

1. Berkin

Berkin

Jul 21, 2019
    Hello everyone,
    2 days ago I purchased my first ever bass (yes, I am a beginner), Sire V7 Gen 2 Swamp Ash (5 string).

As I was playing the bass at home, without an amp, I noticed the A string was buzzing. It was buzzing when no fret was being pressed on. When I start pressing on the 1st and 2nd frets, the buzzing immediately decreases to a point of becoming inaudible. Throughout the remaining frets, the buzzing remains at a low level, but not none. I tried to adjust the truss rod, saddle heights, but no matter what I did, the open A string was buzzing. Only when I raised the action a lot did the buzzing stop. I also tried to touch the string behind the nut, thinking the problem might be behind this area, but that wasn't the case either.

I'm probably missing something, and I am spending these last 4 hours to fix this frustrating problem.

If you have any idea what the problem may be, could you please help?
    Thanks.

2. jblock

jblock

Mar 20, 2004
    CT
    I would try to loosen the string a bit and reseat it at the post so there’s some more down angle. Beyond that, maybe the nut was cut too low for that string so it buzzes when open but not when fretted.

Samatza likes this.
  3. Berkin

Berkin

Jul 21, 2019
    What do I do if the problem is the nut?