This is what I get for buying El Cheapo...

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Vox Populi, Jan 4, 2005.

1. Vox Populi

Vox Populi Reggae Loving Honkey

Jan 27, 2004
    Poulsbo, WA
    I got a Behringer BX600 Ultrabass amp on December 22nd of last month. It had been playing great until a few days ago...

For some reason, the speaker just started buzzing. I don't know why, but it only happens if I play notes mid-neck, like around the 10-12th frets on any given string. Something to do with the frequency of those notes.

I don't know if I'm able to send it back. I don't know if I want to go through the trouble. I'm not in a band, this was just meant to be an around the house amp. But it still pisses me off. I couldn't really get anything more expensive, I'm a student and I'm broke.

What to do, what to do...
  2. MJ5150

MJ5150 Terrific Twister

Apr 12, 2001
    Lacey, WA
    Where did you buy it? It's less than three weeks old, why would they not take it back? Did you BBQ on it or something?

3. Ryan L.

Ryan L. Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Aug 7, 2000
    West Fargo, ND
    If there is a problem with it, send it back. It should have at least a 30 day warrantee on it I would think.
  4. Basspolizei

Basspolizei Pseudo bass player/collector Gold Supporting Member

Jun 23, 2004
    Buy basses and lots of guns before it's too late! You have been warned.
    Yes, take it back immediately if possible. I remember another thread somewhere concerning the Behringer amp having come with an under rated speaker which died early. That could be another possibility. Good luck.
  5. Joe Nerve

Joe Nerve Supporting Member

Oct 7, 2000
    New York City
    Endorsing artist: Musicman basses, Hipshot products