1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

This may be a bit on the sacrilege side.... So please forgive me brothers and sisters!

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by moe.moe, Jan 23, 2020.

1. moe.moe

moe.moe Supporting Member

Jun 22, 2008
    Chicago
    HELP!!!

My beautiful daughter is a huge Brandi Carlile fan! (Folk singer/songwriter).
    So as a gift for having straight A's once again but this time as a junior
    I would like to purchase a decent acoustic guitar as a spring break gift for her when she comes home from college this year.

My mild dilemma, while being a bassist, I really have NO IDEA which a good / decent acoustic guitar brand. I do have "an idea" of which the good quality brands are out there, but I'm planning on only spending $250.00 max and since she's going to be a beginner I figure that amount is fair but would also like to get the most bang for my buck...

So I'm reaching out here on Talkbass hoping that some of you guys out here might be able to steer me in the right direction!

And yeah.... She's not really a bass fan... My bad :(

Thank you all in advance!

Peace!

moe. :)

Last edited: Jan 23, 2020
  2. petrus61

petrus61 Supporting Member

Not sacrilegious at all. I’d go with the Yamaha FG800 without question. Amazing guitar for the money.

3. two fingers

two fingers Opinionated blowhard. But not mad about it. Gold Supporting Member

Feb 7, 2005
    Eastern NC USA
    Dollar for dollar Seagull guitars are a BARGAIN for the quality. If you can find any used Seagull for that price, snag it. They're super nice and some models sold for $400 new. So you can probably find one for that. Good luck either way!

4. two fingers

two fingers Opinionated blowhard. But not mad about it. Gold Supporting Member

Feb 7, 2005
    Eastern NC USA
  5. Slater

Slater Leave that thing alone. Supporting Member

Apr 17, 2000