1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Thompson RM-200 Hybrid from String Emporium

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by markcr, Feb 10, 2020.

1. markcr

markcr

Jun 30, 2016
    I wanted to follow up on my previous post asking about whether to buy a Shen SB-88 laminate or a Thompson RM-200 hybrid. After considerable deliberation, I purchased the RM-200. The bass arrived exactly as described and I couldn't be happier with my purchase. For slightly over $2k, I have a hybrid that just sings with tone. It's really punchy sounding and no matter where I play on the neck, the notes sustain a long time. My wife and daughter both commented on how good it sounded and my daughter even said she liked the way it "rumbled the floor". The action was set up perfectly by Steve's shop and I was able to play it for several hours last night with no pain whatsoever - and I'm brand new to the double bass. What a great deal on a great bass! I'm not affiliated in any way with String Emporium but I have to give credit where credit is due. Steve answered a million newby questions I had, was completely straight up with what I was getting, how it should be set up, strings, pickup, etc. He even sent me pics of the bass while it was on the bench being set up. The customer service was outstanding. If anyone is looking to buy a bass, especially someone buying their first instrument, I highly recommend talking to Steve at String Emporium. I'll upload some photos soon!

2. BobKay

BobKay Supporting Member

Nov 5, 2012
    Estero, Florida; USA
    Congratulations on the new bass. Have fun.

3. markcr

markcr

Jun 30, 2016
    Here are some pics. I should know better than to put a light source "behind" the subject. Oh well. Better pics coming soon... :)

Attached Files:

4. Told ya!

I’m very happy for you and your new adventures!