Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Those Same Old String Frustrations

Discussion in 'Strings [DB]' started by Bobby King, May 12, 2005.

1. Bobby King

Bobby King Supporting Member

May 3, 2005
    Nashville, TN
    Hello folks!

I'm a gut string lover and I've experimented with all sorts of different strings. A few years ago, I started playing some arco and that's when my troubles multiplied :) I'm never happy playing pizz on steel or synthetic core strings but they always bow much better than gut. Since most of my gigs are primarily pizz, I usually go for the gut. Lately though, I'm trying to bring out the bow on gigs a little bit. I bought an expensive mixed set of Eudoxa/Olive and have been using them for around a month, and while I think that they're very nice strings that pizz and bow well, they just don't seem to pop and move air the way my last set did. The last set was mixed Pirastro Pizzicato on E&A with Kaplan Golden Spirals on th D&G. I put them back on today and there was that lively, popping sound that I've been missing. I did some recording with that setup for a vocal jazz CD and it was the best recorded upright sound I've ever gotten. They get a great sound going direct with my Full Circle pickup, and the miked sound was good too. Something about the Eudoxa/Olive sound and feel is -- the word that comes to mind is: constricted. They just don't vibrate as freely and produce as wide a tone. In some ways they produce deeper, more accurate tones, but it's just somehow more restricted. Does anyone know what I mean? The DI sound is also not nearly as good, less bottom and more "clanky".