Thoughts and observations from yesterday's "test drives"

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by troutbum22, May 6, 2012.

1. troutbum22

troutbum22

Dec 8, 2011
    Clemson, sc
    Thought I would post some thoughts and observations about some "test drives" from yesterday.

Disclainmer: I'm not a professional player and right now only play at my beloved little Church on Sundays (southern gospel). I do like to play around with other genres like beach music, motown, blues, southern rock, but as far as my knowledge on bass guitars goes, I don't know a whole lot compared to most of you. I need all the help I can get.

Here's a list of my current equipment:

Dean Edge 5 String
    US made Peavey Foundation 4
    Schecter Omen Extreme 4 in Vintage
    Carvin MB15 Micro combo
    Genz Benz Shuttle 6.0
    Traynor TC115 cab

I recently started getting the hankerin for a new bass, as most of us get. I have settled on a passive instrument and set my budget at $600-$700. I will buy used, but not online. I like to lay my hands on guitars before spending money. So I went out yesterday to "test drive" a few and wanted to share my thoughts in hopes this may be of some help to others. These were played througha couple of different Kustom and Ampeg combos. I tried to keep everything as even as I could as I had to go to a couple different shops.

G&L Tribute SB-2
    I really liked the sound of this one a lot. No tone control, but you could still get a lot of different sounds out of it. The pickups did have some buzz/hum to them when the back pickup was not 100% on. Deffinitely a lot of low end on this guitar. The neck was great (rosewood, which I prefer). The basswood body was light and had a good fit. If I bought one, it would definitely be the red model. I didn't like the hum from the pick ups and the pick guard felt kinda cheap.

G&L Tribute JB-2 (sunburst with maple)