1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Thoughts on small, inexpensive bass amps...

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by curt basner, May 11, 2006.

1. curt basner

curt basner

May 11, 2006
    Las Vegas, NV
    Hi all,

I'm new here, with a new Fender Jazz bass on the way. I'm new to basses, too.

I'm looking for opinions on a small amp to play the new bass through. To answer the inevitable questions, no, I probably will NOT be playing with/in a band, will probably use it just for playing by myself at home. Size is not really an issue, but I don't need anything big. I'm just looking for really good tone, and a price, hopefully, in the $500 or less range (though if someone thought there was an absolute killer amp that pushed up to, say $700, I'd consider that). What should I be looking for in a bass amp? Is there a huge difference in 12" vs. 15" speakers?

I would expect a combo amp would be the way to go. Any help would be appreciated!

2. BMGecko

BMGecko

Sep 5, 2002
    Albuquerque, NM
    THough I've never owned one, I would look into Peavey. I've played through them a bit, they sounded just fine to me (though this was in high school, and I'm more of a snob now).

Look to seeing if you can get a 200-300W amp, at some point, you will probably want to play out and be heard.

3. BassPulsar

BassPulsar

Oct 16, 2002
    Portugal
    Roland Cube30.
    Good sound and loud enough for home use and small venue.

4. 62bass

62bass

Apr 3, 2005
    I'd try the Yorkville Sound XM50C. It's a 50 watt, small 30 lb. combo with nice, easy to use controls and a very good sound that you should be able to get new for $300 or less. Unbeatable warranty and very well built in Canada and reliable.