1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  
  2. Welcome Back!  Please see this thread for more info about the site outage.  Thank you for your patience as we work out bugs and tweak server configs.

Thoughts on Squier basses? Im skeptical.

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Drewsmith00, Feb 26, 2021.

1. Drewsmith00

Drewsmith00

Feb 26, 2021
    USA
    So ive been looking for a second bass for awhile and the Squier CV 70's Jazz bass V5 has shown up basically everywhere. The reason im skeptical is because I own a Squier guitar (Not bass), which was 120$ used and, is garbage. It worked when i was a beginner, but its definetly not great. Moving over to my bass, again, a piece of garbage, but this time it makes more sense. Its a yamaha TRBX174 which I got used for 80$. After learning basic technique i started to realize its faults, mainly the quality overall, tone (or lack thereof) and the action. The action makes sense, because I got it used, but its really bad, like at the 12th fret, its about 3/8 inch off the fretboard... yeah. Also, im getting a 5 string, no matter what. The yamaha is a 4 string and ive learned all the basics, after being told that I would be an idiot for starting on a 5 string, which i learned is bogus advice. I plan to get it adjusted when I get it, and put rotosounds on it. Any advice? Also im new to this forum so let me know if i need to clarify anything, thanks!

2. A9X

A9X

Dec 27, 2003
    Australia
    Do a search. They generally are well respected around here with few issues and few poor performers and some people even gig them. FWIW I don't own any and am hardly a F fan.

It also sounds like you need to learn how to set up a bass properly. There are several good youtube how-tos on this subject.

lfmn16, Fun Size Nick, Bozzy and 25 others like this.
  3. bholder

bholder Affable Sociopath Supporting Member

Sep 2, 2001