1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Thoughts on Used Amps

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Twospot, Jan 20, 2012.

1. Twospot

Twospot

Jan 1, 2012
    Toms River,NJ
    I am just starting out playing bass. Right now I am using the iRiffPort on my iPad with the PocketGK app. Its pretty cool but definitely not like a real amp.

I think I don't want to buy a small practice amp only for it to be too little when I start jamming with other musicians. I was looking at some 500w combos and they will definitely be out of my price range. What are your thoughts on used amps?

Back in the day when I would buy stereo equipment I would NEVER EVER buy a floor model speakers because of the abuse they normally took. So going into this I am thinking the same way. However not knowing much about bass amp durability, is it a bad idea to buy used combo amps (or cabs for that matter)?

As always thank you for your opinions as all are much appreciated!

2. OtterOnBass

OtterOnBass

Oct 5, 2007
    Michigan
    Used amps are a great way to save money. Speaker and cabinet size are the biggest factors in volume, not watts. A 12" in a big box will be enough for most drummers (has been enough for me), otherwise get a 15, 2x12 or more to be share.

The worst abuse a speaker takes is the popping of an input jack. So buying from an experienced, knowledgeable player is best.

3. chaosMK

chaosMK

May 26, 2005
    Albuquerque, NM
    Hi-fi into an old tube amp
    I am sure many (if not the majority) here have bought all kinds of used gear.

It's just like anything else, you just need to know what to look/listen for and how to assess a situation with a seller.

4. Ibanez Bassist

Ibanez Bassist

Jan 30, 2010
    US of A