Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Three Fingers Rigth Hand Technique

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by jaimeloth, Jul 31, 2000.

1. jaimeloth

jaimeloth

Jul 12, 2000
    Well boys, now I puted the rigth title to this post.
    My problem is that I've been playing the bass for about three years and I have a good left hand technique and I always used my pointer and middle on the rigth hand, but now I want to expand my horizons with the ring finger and I have no exercises for the correct finger coordination. Sometimes I use the ring finger to make triplets like Steve Harris but that's all I can do.
    Any one can help me please? Thank you very much. [​IMG]

2. msaygilar

msaygilar Guest

Apr 18, 2000
    Istanbul
  3. mljohn

mljohn

Jul 16, 2000
    I also incorporate three fingers into my playing sometimes. I usually do it for the difference in the attack. My index being the strongest with the hardest attack, middle finger next, and the ring finger for a softer attack.

I also double up fingers for a punchier attack. Using three fingers is also great when playing chords. I find the chords ring through much clearer than strumming.

I haven't found any techniques books on using three fingers either. I guess not many teachers are willing to break the mold of the two finger style. Maybe we should write a book. [​IMG]

Sorry for not being any help with your question.

4. Christopher

Christopher

Apr 28, 2000
    New York, NY
    Also see the lessons at www.garywillis.com. The guy's playing is a testament to the benefits of the three finger approach.

5. theJello

theJello

Apr 12, 2000