1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Three of a Perfect Pair Music camp w/Tony Levin 2016

Discussion in 'Bass Humor & Gig Stories [BG]' started by Mark Plays Bass, Jul 26, 2016.

1. Mark Plays Bass

Mark Plays Bass If I practiced, then life is good! Supporting Member

Dec 15, 2008
    Bronx, NY
    I realize that I may be posting this in the wrong forum, but "Bass Humor & Gig Stories" seems like a much more social and fun forum than "Miscellaneous", so my apologies in advance. Mods, please move this if you see fit. Thank you.
    ~~~ ~~~ ~~~

Is anyone from TalkBass going to the Three of a Perfect Pair Music camp with Tony Levin and the members of Stickmen next week?

I'm going for my first time. I'm really looking forward to it, but I'm a little hesitant too. I don't have much experience performing or even jamming in a large group setting. I started playing bass just before I turned 50 about eight years ago and I can be a bit insecure about my playing. (OMG, I must be the first insecure musician ever!)

Any reports from previous years attendees? Encouragement is welcome and appreciated.

Thanks,
    Mark

nixdad likes this.
  2. dbase

dbase Gold Supporting Member

Jan 3, 2008
    South Jersey, USA..
    Go for it .. Think of it this way... out in the audience how many people do you think can play bass? Not many if any, right? So you have the advantage no matter how well or bad you play. You're the one on the stage, not them... so play for yourself and it will be fine. People don't really listen to the bass like they would the lead guitar player, they just feel it. You hold it all together at the low end. ;) Just another little tip from your uncle Dbase.

Last edited: Aug 24, 2016
  3. Gravedigger Dav

Gravedigger Dav Supporting Member

Mar 13, 2014
    Fort Worth, Texas
    Go and have fun. Looks like a good time thing to do.