Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Three sides of every story

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by barroso, May 31, 2004.

1. barroso

barroso

Aug 16, 2000
    Italia
    I am lucky enough to own some basses. The three basses i am currently using the most are: a 2000 Fender Precision made in usa, a '80 rickenbacker 4001 and a Reverend 'Fish.

I am an amateur player and i am nowadays playing with a rock-hard rock cover band. You know that kind of band with a loud guitar player and a louder drummer. I just want to share my opinion on how different these 3 basses perform on the band setting.

The P bass is nothing more nothing less perfect. It has the right amount of rawness, the right tone. sounds big and full and allows me to have a great tone all over the songs. It is right. Simple and right. The split coil pu is plenty of power in the bass and downer middle realm. Always present and never lost. Accept pick and fingerstyle playing and i use it with all volume and tone knobs fully open. it's an alder body one with a maple neck. Tractor like torque and power.

The Rick is less full on the bass spectrum with a more pronunced upper mids clarity and bite. I use the Rick with the bridge pu on with tone all the way open. While the P is a puncher the Rick is a knife. Less punck more clarity, it excels in cutting thru. Much more responsive and bright sounding, works great with a pick but it's really good finderstyle too. It speaks with a rumbling voice which is great with higher volume settings. An always shining killer blade.