Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Three warwicks

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by xtopher, Oct 15, 2002.

1. xtopher

xtopher

Oct 13, 2002
    Hello,

I am new to the forum. I have been playing bass for about 18 months switching from guitar. I'm playing mixed styles in a band (more detailed description see http://www.allmusic.com/cg/amg.dll?p=amg&sql=Agjfixqr0ld6e). Playing about 50/50 pick and fingers, no slapping (I can't!).

At the moment I have a Steinberger Q4 mk1 which I bought mostly because of the price (£400/$600) with the idea I could get my money back easily if the bass thing didn't work out.

Really enjoying the bass thing, so now thinking of getting a five string with a more woody sound to expand my range.

I am looking at 3 Warwicks, Corvette standard active bubinga, Corvette FNA jazz and Streamer LX.

Any thoughts on what I can expect from these and what their differences are in terms of sound gratefully received.

Chris

2. Joe Nerve

Joe Nerve Supporting Member

Oct 7, 2000
    New York City
    Endorsing artist: Musicman basses, Hipshot products
    I have a standard active corvette (bubinga). When I bought it I compared it with lots of different Warwicks and a very knowledgable and helpful salesman helped me clearly see that this bass had more bottom end than any of the other Warwicks they had in the store. Sorry, don't remember exactly what basses I put it against, but the Thumb and Streamer MM were definitely 2 of them.