Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Thumb position on fretting hand?

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Albini_Fan, Mar 15, 2003.

1. Albini_Fan

Albini_Fan Banned

Jan 26, 2003
    Beneath Below
    I got my first bass lesson today, and my teacher was all telling me to keep it behind the fretboard and always have it pointed straight. He said to not ever put it on top of the fretting board? Uhh, why can't I put on the fretboard? Is there any advantages to keeping it back there? To me, it's just harder..

And also, he said to not move my fingers so much aroudn which is also hard. I usually recoil my finger back up after I squeeze the fret down, but he says to keep my fingers closest to the strings as I can without bouncing them around. Is this good or bad, once again it is just harder and unatural for me to do :/

Yes, I am a newbie.

2. The advice you've been given by your teacher is what is generally considered to be good technique. What they instructed to you will feel awkward at first but will eventually feel far more comfortable as time progresses. Persist with proper technique as instructed and you'll be a far better bass player for it.

3. I was always told to have my thumb behind the fretboard in line with my middle finger. I think if you have your thumb behind the board its easier to stretch further with your fingers, and encourages the use of your pinky finger.

Its better to have your fingers close to the strings instead of bouncing around as this will let you play faster lines, and help to conserve energy in your fingers