Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

thumb position

Discussion in 'Jazz Technique [DB]' started by PB+J, Apr 7, 2001.

1. PB+J

PB+J

Mar 9, 2000
    arlington va
    I'm a self taught upright player, and I get around reasonably well and have ben gigging a couple time a month with a jazz trio. I can't seem to get a grip on the idea of "thumb postion." The idea is that playing above the octave harmonic or so, you use your thumb as a barre or sort of like a capo, in ordeer to make it easier to press the notes down. When I try to do this A: it hurts, B: it doesn't work--I can't hold the strings down effectively with my thumb, and C: I have a harder time playing in this position. It's easier for me to get more on top of the fingerboard than thumb position seems to allow.

Am I missing the boat on this? How many of you have trouble with thumb position?

2. lermgalieu

lermgalieu Supporting Member

Apr 27, 2000
    Palo Alto, CA
    Before you get into holding the string down, try resting it on the harmonic. You should always be able to feel where the harmonic is (feels dead), so that should keep you fairly in tune, and just playing harmonic won't hurt nearly as bad.

ps: also Simandl Voume II deals alot with thumb position, and Chuck Sher's Bass Improvisation book has good thumb position exercises. More experienced guys on the board probably can give you a lot of other tips too...