Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Thumb technique for slap

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by AndrewShirley, Nov 16, 2004.

1. I've been slapping for about 6 years now and I'm real comfortable with it.

Here's the dilema: I've been watching videos from some of the greats such as Larry Graham and Victor Wooten, who use a different thumb technique then I learned. I "whack" the string at the last fret of the fret-board, kind of like trying to kill bugs haha. Anyway both Larry and Victor use their thumb more like a pick, where it skims past the string, striking it as it passes and comes to rest on the next string higher up. They typically do this over the PUPs. Both Larry and Victor take advantage of this and use the double-thumbing technique, like a pick.

My question: How many of you "WHACK" that string on the fret board, and how many "thumb-pick" it? It seems there are at least 2 popular styles.

- Andrew

ps. I've been trying it Larry/Victor style and got a big blister ;)

2. Dennis Kong

Dennis Kong Supporting Member

Sep 1, 2004
    San Mateo CA
    Both.
    Depends on the tune and wither you 're comping on a tune vs soloing.
    Ie:
    on a 70's cover tune, I 'd use either a L. Graham or L. Johnson technique. " Brickhouse" (Commodores).

on the jazz tune :" Mercy,Mercy,Mercy" (J. Zawinal) in my band, I get a solo... so I' ll use a combination of techniques: bits of Victor's, Marcus's & Kai Eckhardht's (J. McLaughlin) ideas.

Sometimes it's works real well :cool:

and other times I 'll fall flat on my face. :(

But I' m always working to improve it. :)

3. Joe P

Joe P

Jul 15, 2004
    Milwaukee, WI