Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Thump AND Definition on a PBass?

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by bilco, Mar 18, 2006.

1. bilco

bilco

Jan 25, 2006
    Austin, Texas
    I have an '84 Fender PBass with a set of Rio Grande Vintage pickups. I have been using roundwound for ~ 30 years now, Rotosound, Smith, boomers and GHS. I finally tried the TI Jazz Flats and after a week of extreme playability, but floppy rubber band like feel, I had it reset up with the action purposely higher than recommended by Fender. What a difference

Positive: Now I remember what thump is.... It feels like being punched in the gut; I never had that kind of punch with any of the round wounds. The TIs push the groove really well on walking country or swing and old Motown stuff. Combining the TI strings with a Sansamp gives me the sound I have had in my head, but never been able to achieve. They record GREAT too.

Negative: Because I had to set the action high to get some tension, it is taking its toll on my left hand if I have to play 2 long swing songs in a row. Also, I traded off some of the definition, that grand piano ringing sound of the round wounds. It is harder to distinguish the actual note. I am felt more than heard now. On softer singer/songwriter stuff, I am missing the clarity of the round wounds.

2 questions:

What is the flat wound string with the most thump that will not kill my left hand and bring back my carpal tunnel?

Are there any flat wounds out there that have as much or more punch than the TIs, but more definition (overtones, bell tones, clarity, piano string sound)?

Now I am mulling over getting a beater to put the thumpinest strings I can find on for gigs and keeping the PBass set up with the TIs for recording. Perfect world I guess would be a the TI Pbass for recording and a thump bass and a round wound bass for gigs...

Thanks,