1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Thunderfunk 550B / Schroeder 410r ...

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by bassplayer75, Mar 8, 2010.

1. bassplayer75

bassplayer75 Bassplayer75 Supporting Member

Oct 14, 2009
    salyersville, ky
    Hey guys just wondering if anyone else playing this combination finds something lacking in tone...I want to love the cab and the head but find I'm always twisting knobs looking for my sound.

I actually went to band rehearsal last night where I keep a roland bass cube 100...plugged my fretless stingray into it and found myself liking that amp better than my big rig set up ... what gives ?

I've been playing for 20 years + with pro gigs under my belt...could always find a usable tone on anything I plugged into ... I'm I just missing my Eden's or, have I just gotten use to the sound of 12 inch speakers from playing through the roland so much ...

Don't get me wrong the setup is punchy and loud just seems to lack (insert better word here) *Balls*

2. Alexander

Alexander

Aug 13, 2001
    Seattle, WA
    I've never played through a Schroeder, but from what I've heard they are very mid-oriented, as is the Thunderfunk. IME, you need a wider sounding cab for the Thunderfunk to sound great and this held true for me, even with the 750A which is itself a bit wider than the 550B.

3. +1 If you like the mid warmth and that bit of compressed tone in the low and top end of the TF, then a more wide, evenly voiced cab (Aguilar, Epifani, etc.) will sound better. I found the Aguilar DB112's to be a particularly good match for the TF if you like a sort of 'vintage meets modern' warm, punchy tone.