1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TI flats, string through body or bridge?

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by Thumper, Feb 13, 2015.

1. Thumper

Thumper Supporting Member

Mar 22, 2000
    Syracuse Ut
    I'm going to string my P5 with TI flats. P5s can be strung either way, but I don't have any experience with TIs strung through body. Had them on a Sukop and now on a Zon 5/1, neither with the body through option.

I worry that the severe break angle could damage the outer wrap. Should I be concerned or does it not matter?

Does stringing through body change the feel of the string in any way? This is the first bass Ive ever had that offers this option, so I have no knowledge base.

2. christle

christle

Jan 26, 2002
    Canada
    I have had success using them top load and string thru. If you are concerned just go top load.

3. Thumper

Mar 22, 2000
    Syracuse Ut
    I was hoping through body would tighten up the feel, even if just minimally, but for all I know its just urban legend.

4. tjh

tjh

Mar 22, 2006
    Minnesota
    I have had basses that were STB only and used TI's on them ... noticed no difference from being top loaded ...

.. these days I have come to the conclusion that due to the extended life of flatwound strings, they may very well end up on another bass in their lifetime, and that one may be top load only ... so I top load them all, as not to have witness point bend from where they were STB in my playing area ...

I buy used flats too, that is why I always ask if they have been STB or top loaded .. ;)

Klonk likes this.
  5. 2saddleslab

2saddleslab Supporting Member

May 30, 2003
    Kentucky
    Been playing TI flats string thru for decades. Never had a problem. Whether there's a sonic or tension difference will be debated till the end of days. I just know it's always given me the best tone.
    P1250057.jpg