1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

TI / Labella Flatwound comparison

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by TroyK, May 5, 2006.

1. TroyK

TroyK Moderator Staff Member

Mar 14, 2003
    Seattle, WA
    I've been experimenting with Flatwounds for a few years now and have some opinions, but started a new Fretless P-Bass project last year and decided that it was time to try the two marquee brand flatwounds; LaBellas and Thomastik Infields. Because both are expensive and Talkbass Rocks!, I bought the LaBella DTBFLs, kept them on for a while and then posted and brokered a trade with a friendly TB'er for the TIs. Paid for one set, bought both.

So, since I've had both on the same bass and he's had both on a different bass, we thought people might be interested in hearing our impressions. I may mix in some impressions of the other other flatwounds I've used, but to be fair, I never had them on this particular bass, so it's tough to directly compare. Also, I should mention that since my last round of flatwound experimenting, I've been almost exclusively a doublebass player and just play the occasional gig with my P-Bass. Those gigs are almost always fairly quiet jazz gigs and I play walking fingerstyle, so depending on what you are doing, YMMV.

The TIs just went on and I'm going to need to change my setup a little to really get them dialed in. I don't have a gig with this bass for another week, so I'll have to reserve some judgement until then.