1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Time for new pickups

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by killyourfamily, Sep 24, 2008.

1. I bought my first and only needed bass about a year back from a second hand store. It is a Fernandes. It came with a document that stated the bass was originally bought back in 87' for a bit over $2,000 AUD. Now I don't think the pickups have been changed since then because I can't find much about the company (for you who care the company is F.G.I Technology). . . . 100_0677-1. . . . I'm very new to anything related to pickups so as much help as you can give will be greatly appreciated. . . . The tone I want: I dig John Myung's clean deep badass tone, but I also love upped mid powerful heavy stuff like most hardcore bands and metal. For those of you who know Municipal Waste, I want that sort of tone as well. I like to play a bit of funk slap so a tone that can do that would be amazing. . . . So is there are there a set of pickups out there that can been clean and deep yet low and powerful but also bright and funky? Cheers.

2. GlennW

GlennW

Sep 6, 2006
    I'd say it's time for a new username cupcake.

3. Find me some pickups that fit what I want and I'll change it to anything you want.

4. Nighttrain1127

Nighttrain1127 Supporting Member

Nov 27, 2004
    Near Worcester MA
    Check out EMG's And Bartolini's

5. Would you recommend any model in particular?

6. SGD Lutherie

SGD Lutherie Banned Commercial User

Aug 21, 2008
    Bloomfield, NJ
    Owner, SGD Music Products
    You can't find much about Fernandes guitars??

http://www.fernandesguitars.com/

They don't make that model any more though.

All those tones you mention have more to do with the amp/signal chain than the bass... any clear sounding bass should work.