Time to fix up Rogue... (warning, long post)

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by darkfinger, Feb 26, 2010.

1. Hi all,

I'm not sure if this is the right place to post this because it's not really a ground up build so if it needs to be moved ,my apologies and please move it to a new home where it will be welcome...:D

So a bit of history;
    I started playing bass around 16 yrs ago. My first bass was a Squier p bass that I was forced to sell due to being young and stupid and getting into some serious money trouble. I had that bass for just over a year and had started playing in an originals band when I had to sell I was heartbroken.
    Enter, my best friend's father.
    I was relating the story to my friend (who was also the lead singer), practically teary eyed, explaining to him why I had to quit the band (no bass or amp and no money for a new one) when my friend's father, who had been listening from the other room came in came in and said something along the lines of "you can't stop playing bass, you're just starting to really figure it out." followed by "you two come with me."
    My friend and I headed to the car with him and he drove us to a storage facility without saying where we were going or why.
    He disappeared inside and came back with a battered to s*** guitar case that was covered with dirt and water damage and says, " I've had this thing in storage for years, you're more than welcome to use it until you can buy a new bass," and disappears back into the storage room a second time while my buddy and I open the case onto a Rogue P Bass copy.
    The bass was in playable condition (sort of), but needed new strings and the input jack had fallen into the control cavity.
    Minutes later my buddy's dad rolls out a Garnett 200watt pro (I think that was the model...it's been a while.) on a 1 X 15 Garnett cab.
    "Here's an amp that I've had since the seventies that you can use as well."
    I was floored.:hyper:
    Long story short: