Time to go?

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by fourstr00, Mar 6, 2003.

1. fourstr00

Mar 21, 2002
    Chicago Area
    This seems to be a popular topic on this board, but I'm going to try it anyway.

I've been playing with a hard rock band for almost two years now. Covers and originals, "our band is gonna make it" mentality. We run the gamut on gigs, some excellent, some not, but we're still booked through June with double-header weekends.

Drugs have always been present in the band (I don't partake), and it never bothered me. Egos have always been STRONG, and it never bothered me before. But recently, I think I've had all I can take. The band auditioned a DJ after our CD release party, and I'm now pretty sure this isn't the direction I want to take musically.

Recently, I ran into a girl and her boyfriend in need of a bassist. Great stuff; kind of like Incubus meets George Clinton. In two months, we've written 15 songs, as opposed to my other band's three in my entire tenure.

What do I do now? Talent is about the same in either band, but do I give up the steady work to start over with a new band (the hard rock band is not THAT big)? Are less egos and drugs worth the transition? How should I approach this?
  2. You're 20, you're in Chicagoland, so there's plenty of opportunities for work, and your new band sounds better than your old one. I think you know what to do--leave and let those deluded, lazy idiots find some other sucker.

I personally would have checked out of the old band if weed or alcohol were being used at performances/rehearsals, let alone harder drugs.
  3. Less ego, less drugs, more creative output. JUMP! JUMP!

Really, the reason why I joined my band is because of the lack of big egos, good creativity and I enjoy playing every damn song, every damn time.
  4. fourstr00

Mar 21, 2002
    Chicago Area
    yeah, but how do I approach this? I've never left a band for such a relatively subtle reason.