Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Timing/rhythm worries

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Amphetachronism, Jun 21, 2005.

1. Hey. I'm a pretty new player (About two months' experience, self-taught, as bass teachers around here are as common and expensive as gold dust, so that's not an option unfortunately). I'm getting on well in regards to theory and playing scales, cycle of fifths, chords, wrapping my brain around modes, etc.
    My problem is timing, and keeping a rhythm or pulse going. I own a metronome, but as soon as I decide to practice something in-time, I flick on the metronome and my brain suffers some kind of colossal meltdown... whatever I had in mind flies away and all I seem to be able to do is count the ticks in my head. 1,2,3,4,1,2,3,4... it's extremely frustrating as I know full well how important timing and rhythm is to bass players.

Are there any techniques or exercises I can work through to get me playing in-time? I've looked through the links thread, loads of useful theory info but not really that much on timing. Understandably, as it really is a very basic thing to learn... unless you're me.

Don't say I should play guitar, please :(

Thanks for any help,
    Name that is too long

2. Christopher

Christopher

Apr 28, 2000
    New York, NY
    Start by playing only one note in time with the beats of the metronome.

Once you're comfortable with that, try alternating between two notes in time with the metronome.

Repeat as necessary. There's nothing to "learn" - it's just a matter of getting used to it.

3. Well, bugger, here I was hoping for a fast-track, no effort solution ;)

Nah, common sense prevails, no gain without graft. Good job I'm willing to put the effort in :)

Thanks.