Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Timothy B. Schmit or Randy Meisner?

Discussion in 'Bassists [BG]' started by D.J, Apr 21, 2002.

1. D.J

D.J

Jan 31, 2000
    Do you like them and what's your favorite?

2. lneal

lneal

Apr 12, 2002
    Lee County, Alabama
    Early in my development as a bassist, I learned every song on The Eagles Greatest Hits 1971-1975 album. Later when Meissner left and Schmidt came aboard I was bummed out, but then he won me over with that infectious groove on "Life In The Fast Lane". So, I have to call it a draw!

3. Showdown

Showdown Supporting Member

Jan 21, 2002
    Honolulu, Hawaii
    I'll have to go with Timothy B. Schmidt, although Meisner is an excellent bass player.

4. T-birdfan

T-birdfan

Jan 29, 2001
    Ontario, Canada
    Take It To The Limit- Randy Meisner hands down. Don Henley was an egotistical p****.

5. Munjibunga

Munjibunga Total Hyper-Elite Member Gold Supporting Member

May 6, 2000
    San Diego (when not at Groom Lake)
    Independent Contractor to Bass San Diego
    I prefer Timothy B. Schmidt, although he looks a bit like something out of a scary movie. (No offense, Tim.)

6. Winston TK

Winston TK Hairpiece Adventurer

Oct 8, 2001
    Burnaby, BC Canada
    You know what? As bassists, they are each good at what they do. Solid. Melodic when they need to be. Groovy in that Southern Californian country-ish kind of way. Superb.

But, let us not forget that they were (are) both great vocalists as well. Even on the "Hell Freezes Over" stuff, Schmidt shows that he still has great pipes. (Besides, wasn't he originally in Poco? They certainly were not too shabby in the ol' vocal department.)

7. Harper

Harper

Nov 10, 2001
    Ineal,

That was Meisner on "Life in the Fast Lane". T.B.S. didn't join until The Long Run album.

8. Funkster

Funkster

Apr 6, 2000
    Wormtown, MA