tips and advise

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by __Syxx__, Nov 14, 2000.

1. __Syxx__

__Syxx__ Guest

Nov 14, 2000
    brisbane australia
    hi im just starting to learn how to play bass and i was wondering if anyone had any advise or tips to give me, cause it would be very useful to me. Thanks
  2. Bruce Lindfield

Bruce Lindfield Unprofessional TalkBass Contributor Gold Supporting Member

This is what most of the site is all about - if you read through the forums like "General Instruction", "Technique", "Setup" etc. you will find loads of tips and advice. If you have a particular area that you are interested in, then you could always use the "Search" facility and you will probably find it in here somewhere!
  3. rickbass

rickbass Supporting Member

I see from your profile your biggest influence is Fieldy. So, if you're a normal aspiring bassist, you're going to start out trying to play just like Fieldy. My advice -don't. For one thing, he positions his bass almost vertically. Also, he plays a lot of slap,uses chords, and KoRn's music often has odd meters and somewhat syncopated basslines. If you start out trying these things, odds are you're going to put your Ashton down and consider the didgeridoo. However, I'm not saying you shouldn't try playing along with KoRn. A beginner can do that by locking in on the root notes and playing a straight beat. One band from your country you might try playing along with is AC/DC. Cliff Williams plays a straight beat with root notes a lot and doesn't get too complex, although sometimes he will mute notes or not play them at all, but not enough to throw you. Williams and the drummer are a single machine.