1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Tips for finding a singer?

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by IconBasser, Aug 31, 2008.

1. IconBasser

IconBasser Scuba Viking Supporting Member

Feb 28, 2007
    Fontana, California
    Hey y'all, I've got a prog rock band going, and we're looking for a singer (preferably a female, their voices just sound better IMO).

in all the bands I've been in, they've always been instrumental, so I've got no experience with finding vocalists.

Tips? tricks?

2. bambambass

bambambass

Aug 4, 2008
    nz
    Hi IconBasser

We found our singer at a music club. He was performing solo and I approached him after his set and asked him if he was interested in joining our band. He listened to ours, liked it and joined that evening.

The club was like an open mic night sort of thing where the promotor didn't bother listening to the bands before booking them. You could try something like that if they are in your area.

Good luck!

3. pedro

pedro

Apr 5, 2000
    Madison, WI.
    I would suggest an ad on Craigslist and perhaps some of the local music stores. I would try to be very specific in the ad but it may not do much good. A couple of years ago I was trying to put together a 60's British invasion kind of gig. We needed a lead guitarist and got mostly guys who fancied themselves SRV or Jimi Hendrix or Van Halen types. Totally inappropriate for the style. So be prepared.

4. Vic Winters

Vic Winters Supporting Member

Apr 20, 2006
    Western NY
    I used CL, it took a year, but we finally landed someone. Try open mics or karaoke bars as well.

5. pedro

pedro

Apr 5, 2000
    Madison, WI.
    Sounds like some good suggestions to me.

6. Ric5

Ric5 Supporting Member Commercial User

Jan 29, 2008
    Colorado
    I grow organic carrots and they are not for sale
    Get a singer who is not an alcoholic.

7. Tedddy

Tedddy