1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Tips for Hosting Open Mic

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by Tyler L, Nov 9, 2017.

1. Tyler L

Tyler L

Aug 16, 2017
    Urbana, OH
    Hey Everyone, hopefully I'm not on the wrong board for this (can I still use the Talkbass "newbie" card?)

So back from about 2008-2011, my small town was a flourishing hub for open mic talent. People would come from miles around to play, the culture was friendly, the music was hot, and the crowd turnout was ample. The venue, a coffeehouse, ended up discontinuing the open mics due to laws/regulations against live covers of songs without some BS license. That combined with a burnt out host pretty much killed it off

Fast forwarding to today, my wife now owns a new coffeehouse and we are considering firing open mic back up with me hosting. As a bassist, I'm super excited to have fun and stay sharp with some local talent. I've never hosted open mic before, so for those who have either been to or hosted open mics, any suggestion to hosting? Would monthly be too frequent or too sparse? How did you find out about local open mics in your hometown? Do you typically play open mics on weekends or weekdays? Anybody know anything about these laws/licenses about bands playing cover songs? Is this all just a terrible idea that I will regret for generations?

Thanks everyone for your input!

2. buldog5151bass

buldog5151bass Kibble, milkbones, and P Basses. And redheads.

Oct 22, 2003
    Connecticut
    It can be great, especially on a slow night. I would include the following:

1. Think about a theme. Some places are for originals, some for acoustic music, etc. If it's a coffee house, you don't want death metal.