1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Tips for keeping your fingers in shape

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Tommygun_ted, Oct 6, 2017.

1. Hey, so I've been playing bass for about 10 years, and have always preferred playing with my fingers. However, I work in a factory and the work is really hard on my hands. After taking a 2 year break from music, it feels like my fingers are stiff, mostly on my picking hand. I've gotten into a band and we've been jamming 2-3 times a week plus whatever practice I squeeze in between, so I'm not sure if I'm still just that rusty or if my hands have been affected by my job. Does anyone have any hand excersizes they do to keep their fingers strong and limber?

2. fearceol

fearceol

Nov 14, 2006
    Ireland
    Once your technique is safe... i.e. your wrist is not bent severely, then IMO jamming as you are doing, should be enough to keep the hands and fingers in shape.

The only other thing I'd suggest, before you even touch the bass is to do some gentle stretches for a few minutes, (both before and after a practice session). Then take another couple of minutes SLOWLY doing chromatic scales or arpeggios (above the fifth fret).

3. Bassperson26

Bassperson26

Sep 30, 2012
    fearceol posted a good vid and advice about stretching so listen to him for that!