1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

tips for learning and memorizing notes on the fretboard?

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by bon viesta, Dec 23, 2020.

1. bon viesta

bon viesta

Dec 10, 2020
    i’m still a beginner, despite being a total gear head, and i just wanted to ask for some tips on memorizing notes! it’s a bit time consuming hitting the open e or a or d or g string and being like “ok that’s a g... one two three...” etc and counting the half steps between b and c and e and f, just to arrive at a fret you’ll forget about once you move away for a second or two. beginners problems i guess :hyper:. my picking technique and left hand technique are pretty okay, one finger per fret (sometimes i cheat and either use my middle finger or pinkie when i should use my ring finger), but i want to start getting into theory to better my playing. what’s the point of playing good if you play the wrong stuff??

Nebula24, D.A.R.K. and jmattbassplaya like this.
  2. Rabidhamster

Rabidhamster

Jan 15, 2014
    Get a copy of Rocksmith and play the Guitarcade excersises. There’s one mode which starts you out calling notes and a general area of the fretboard and times you finding them accurately. Kinda like flash cards for note placement.

3. Learn your 12 first position roots. Then learn where the octaves are and what positions you need to play to get to them. Then learn where the octaves for those notes are.

If you know one note, you can find just about any other of the same note by moving over two strings and up two frets. IMO you only really need to memorize the first position roots and you will soon know them all if you practice playing the octaves. That's how I did it, anyway.

4. 75Ric

75Ric

Feb 13, 2019
    Connecticut
    This is the way I did it, from an article on the topic from one of the bass mags (forget which one and when):