Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Tips for overcoming stage fright?

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by McHaven, Aug 23, 2005.

1. McHaven

McHaven

Mar 1, 2005
    So my band is a trio and originally we planned to split the vocas between the guitarist and I. We've been taking voice lessons too and we've really improved. We sing pretty well just hanging out or singing along to something in the car on the way to a show.

The actual show on the other hand is a different story.
    He does fine behind the mic, not espicially singing perfectly but he's doing it.
    I, on the other hand, have a hard time singing in front of a crowd. I can't even bring myself to sing sometimes and when I do, my voice is terrible.
    I have no problems playing bass, because I KNOW I have a degree of skill at that, but I don't feel that way about my singing.

I've read the guide to singing that Jive posted but it didn't have much to address this point. So are there any reccommendations for me?

Thanks

2. Selta

Selta

Feb 6, 2002
    Pacific Northwet
    Total fanboi of: Fractal Audio, AudiKinesis Cabs, Dingwall basses
    Just do it. Confidence is key. Don't feel bad/down or anything. Try to reduce your nervousness; clench your toes/fingers as hard as you can for a few moments before the show starts, do Yoga, close your eyes and deep breaths all work for me for nervousness. Confidence, is again, key. You know you sound good, you're taking lessons! You've practiced the songs a hundred thousand times! Also, try not to look at the crowd... look at the back of the room or something. Heck, the very first gig I had, there were all of 200 people there, so I starred at the stage lights :p (off stage ones). It worked though, and no one could tell the difference.

Best of luck!

-Ray

3. flipperwhite

flipperwhite

Jul 12, 2001
    usa