1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

tips on creating basslines

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by funkybass, Oct 22, 2006.

1. funkybass

funkybass

Oct 19, 2006
    Indiana
    Hi all. I'm new to the forum and bass. I used to be a drummer, but switched to bass. I need help creating basslines. I usually just use r.5,8. Any tips on other ways to create basslines?

2. well, if your good at making drumlines, make one, and then try to make up a bassline to go along with it

3. Creating a bassline is a 'song-specific' exercise. What I do is the following:
    1. Listen closely to the song and try to hear the bassline - When I listen a few times I can start to imagine a line - I can hear pieces of it from the guitar part, the drums and my active imagination (referencing existing bass lines that sound similar in my mind).
    2. Being a drummer, you have a great advantage by having access to all sorts of rhythmic concepts. Before going rhythm crazy, start simple (like you described above R, 3, 5) then apply that line you heard in your head. Work closely with the drummer.
    3. Listen to the singer and reflect the vocal line with your bass line. If the singer's line finishes with a descending line, make your bass phrase end with a similar descending line.
    4. LESS IS MORE - Every instinct in me says, "play your ass off!" then I do, listen to the playback and get embarassed at how "over the top" my line is. Then I re-do it, stripping out all the over the top stuff, only doing fancy things here and there, and suddenly the song sounds more solid and right for the song.

If you have a specific song you are working on and need tips on how to approach a line, post a recording and see what we can offer.

4. funkybass

funkybass

Oct 19, 2006
    Indiana