Tips; On going from a 4 to a 6-string Bass!

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by TravellinMan, Jan 11, 2003.

1. TravellinMan

Jan 11, 2003
    NW Indiana
    I play a 4-string right now being playin on and off since I was 16 yrs old now 25! And was just wondering how some of you guys that did the same thing! How hard it was, or how easy it was!
    Thanks TravellinMan!
  2. BillyB_from_LZ

BillyB_from_LZ Supporting Member

Sep 7, 2000
    I started playing bass in '74 and made the step to 5 string just last year. I think the key is to finding an instrument that feels right and then trying to remember that the big one isn't E anylonger : - )

I swore up and down that I'd never go the 5 route, owned a Warwick 5 for a few months, sold it, swore again that I'd never play a 5, bought a Squier Precision 5 Special (which I have turned into a fretless) and really took to it. For me it all had to do with feel.

I stumbled into a fantastic List sale at Guitar Center in November...those three days of amazing deals left me with yet another 5 string fretted bass and a 6 string (Ibanez SR406). The neck profile of the SR fits my hands perfectly and I don't seem to have any problems remembering where I am.

I don't really have any suggestions other than if you just make up your mind that you want to play a it. Like Ted Nugent says "It's all about attitude!!!"

Have fun (and don't sell your 4 string)
  3. Richard Lindsey

Richard Lindsey

Mar 25, 2000
    Metro NYC
    The simplest thing IMO is just to do it. Play the 6 as much as you can and get most of your mistakes (and you WILL make them) out of the way early on. My experience was that trying to ease into it just prolonged the time during which I was playing the 6 badly. Eventually I just put the 4 into a case and resolved I'd play only 6 until further notice. Things went better, and more quickly, after that.
  4. Ryan L.

Ryan L. Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Aug 7, 2000
    West Fargo, ND